NY/NJ Port Authority Sets Fall Start for $45M Zero-Emission Truck Programs — Current Launch Materials Don’t Give Per-Truck Voucher Amounts

CALSTART will administer up to $39 million in point-of-sale vouchers plus $5 million for as many as five nearby charging hubs; the current public announcement does not give an exact application-opening date or explain the $1 million gap between those suballocations and the $45 million package total.

More EV Incentives coverage →

The Port Authority of New York and New Jersey and CALSTART have announced a $45 million package of zero-emission truck and charging programs for the Port of New York and New Jersey, with CALSTART set to administer both programs beginning this fall.12 What the announcement does not yet give fleets is just as important: the current public material reviewed Sept. 4 does not disclose an exact application-opening date or a per-truck voucher schedule.2

The larger piece is the Clean Truck Incentive Program, or CTI. The Port Authority/CALSTART announcement says CTI will deploy up to $39 million in point-of-sale vouchers for zero-emission drayage trucks, yard tractors and supporting charging infrastructure.2 That wording matters: the announced CTI scope is zero-emission, not a published battery-electric-only eligibility list, and the current material does not specify how much an individual truck or applicant could receive.2

The second program, the Green Drayage Accelerator, has a stated $5 million allocation. The announcement says GDA is intended to support up to five electric-truck charging hubs within 10 miles of Port Authority seaport or marine-terminal facilities.2

The $45 million headline has a $1 million gap

There is a small but unresolved arithmetic wrinkle in the announcement. CTI's stated maximum allocation of $39 million plus GDA's $5 million totals $44 million, while the Port Authority describes the combined package as $45 million.23 The current public material reviewed by the newsroom does not break out what the remaining $1 million covers.23

That does not establish an error or an undisclosed use of funds. It simply means the public package-level number is more detailed than the public suballocation breakdown.

For operators, the bigger missing details are practical. The announcement says the programs will commence in fall 2026 and says outreach will occur in the coming weeks, but it does not provide an exact application-opening date, a per-vehicle voucher table, a public applicant cap, a scrappage rule, a cost-share formula or stacking rules.2 Until those terms appear in a program guide or application surface, the $39 million CTI figure is an announced program-level allocation rather than a dollar amount a specific fleet can safely assume it will receive.

The underlying idea was already public in 2024

The September announcement is also not the first time the federal Clean Ports project described truck-voucher and charging-hub concepts for the port. In October 2024, EPA said PANYNJ had been selected for an anticipated $344,138,135 technology project that included a proposed ZE Equipment for Ports (ZEEP) Voucher Incentive Program and a Green Drayage Accelerator.4 EPA's 2024 notice also made clear that selection was not the same as a completed final award; selected projects still had legal, statutory and administrative steps to complete.4

What is new now is the implementation-stage detail: CALSTART is named as designer and administrator, CTI has a current name and up-to-$39-million allocation, GDA has a $5 million allocation and five-hub target, and the programs have a fall-2026 commencement window.2 The reviewed records do not establish that CTI is simply a renamed version of the earlier ZEEP proposal, so the two names should not be treated as interchangeable.

EPA's current Clean Ports awards table, updated in August 2026, lists PANYNJ's active Zero-Emission Technology Deployment award at $451,635,800 and separately lists a $3 million planning award.5 The current table does not explain when or why the technology-award amount changed from the lower anticipated selection figure published in 2024, so that difference should not be read as a new September funding increase.45

Sources

Footnotes

  1. Port Authority and CALSTART launch $45 million electric truck and charging programs — Port Authority of New York and New Jersey, official 2026 press-release archive, observed Sept. 4, 2026. https://www.panynj.gov/port-authority/en/press-room/press-release-archives/2026-press-releases/port-authority-and-calstart-launch--45-million-electric-truck-an.html The official release surface establishes the issuer, title and existence of the current announcement; its body did not render in the research tool, so detailed program terms are not attributed to S001 alone.

  2. Port Authority of NY & NJ and CALSTART launch $45 million electric truck and charging programs — Air Freight News reproduction of the Port Authority/CALSTART release, current September 2026, observed Sept. 4, 2026. https://airfreight.news/articles/full/port-authority-of-new-york-and-new-jersey-and-calstart-launch-45-million-electric-truck-and-charging-programs Establishes the release wording for CTI/GDA names, fall commencement, CALSTART administration, the up-to-$39-million CTI allocation, the $5 million GDA allocation, the five-hub/10-mile target and the announcement's current level of application detail. This is a release reproduction, not independent verification of promotional claims. 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9

  3. Port Authority, CALSTART launch $45M electric truck program at Port of New York and New Jersey — Heavy Shift, Sept. 4, 2026. https://heavy-shift.com/port-authority-calstart-launch-45m-electric-truck-program-at-port-of-new-york-and-new-jersey/ Supports the straightforward observation that the announced $39 million and $5 million suballocations total $44 million and that the current announcement does not break out the remaining $1 million; it does not establish what that remainder funds. 2

  4. Biden-Harris Administration Announces Selections for Nearly $3 Billion of Investments in Clean Ports / EPA Announces Historic $400M Clean Ports Investment in New Jersey — U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, Oct. 29-30, 2024. https://www.epa.gov/newsreleases/biden-harris-administration-announces-selections-nearly-3-billion-investments-clean ; https://www.epa.gov/newsreleases/epa-announces-historic-400m-clean-ports-investment-new-jersey Establishes the 2024 anticipated PANYNJ technology selection, proposed ZEEP voucher/GDA concepts and the selection-stage caveat. 2 3

  5. Clean Ports Program Awards — U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, current awards table updated Aug. 17, 2026; observed Sept. 4, 2026. https://www.epa.gov/ports-initiative/clean-ports-program-awards Establishes the current active PANYNJ technology award of $451,635,800 and separate $3 million planning award; it does not explain the timing or reason for the change from the 2024 anticipated selection amount. 2